Select Page


Is There Anybody Out There? The Wall Live 1980-81

Is There Anybody Out There? is The Wall, performed live by Pink Floyd with tracks selected from the August 1980 and June 1981 performances at Earls Court in London. Many of the songs are extended or include some of the bits which were cut from the original studio LP. It contains live versions of two previously unreleased tracks “What Shall We Do Now?” and “The Last Few Bricks”, as well as live extended versions of several other tracks.

It’s been released three times in total. It was originally released in 2000 as part of The Wall‘s 20th anniversary. It was remastered and reissued in 2005, and remastered and reissued one more time in 2012 as discs 5 and 6 of the Immersion box set.


Where to Find Is There Anybody Out There?  The Wall Live 1980-81

The album is currently out of print, but new and used copies are still available on for a somewhat reasonable price. I recommend physical media purchases, especially for Pink Floyd albums and their great artwork. The Wall: Immersion edition also contains the complete live album — the excellent 2011 James Guthrie remaster. It’s also out of print and a lot more expensive than just the live CD, but the extras really make Immersion a worthwhile purchase.

As of March 1, 2024, there are no commercial digital downloads (iTunes store, Amazon) available for Is There Anybody Out There? The Wall Live or the Immersion edition and none of the tracks are available on streaming services such as Spotify or Apple Music.

Roger Waters The Wall, the album and film of his live shows from the early 2010’s, is still available in most formats and services. It is outstanding and worth owning on its own. It’s a very faithful performance by the guy who wrote most of the album. Much of the band has been playing on tours for years with Waters, David Gilmour, and Nick Mason so they have the creds. It is excellent but it’s not Pink Floyd’s The Wall.


Is There Anybody Out There? Track Listing

All songs written and composed by Roger Waters, except where noted.

Programme 1

# Title Writer(s) Lead vocals Time
1 “MC: Atmos” (includes excerpt from “We’ll Meet Again” by Vera Lynn) N/A Gary Yudman 1:14
2  “In the Flesh?” Waters 3:00
3  “The Thin Ice” Gilmour, Waters 2:49
4  “Another Brick in the Wall (Part I)” Waters 4:09
5  “The Happiest Days of Our Lives” Waters 1:45
6  “Another Brick in the Wall (Part II)” Gilmour, Waters 6:19
7  “Mother” Waters, Gilmour 7:55
8 “Goodbye Blue Sky” Gilmour 3:14
9 “Empty Spaces” Waters 2:16
10 “What Shall We Do Now?” Waters 1:39
11 “Young Lust” Waters, Gilmour Gilmour 5:19
12 “One of My Turns” Waters 3:42
13 “Don’t Leave Me Now” Waters 4:01
14 “Another Brick in the Wall (Part III)” Waters 1:21
15  “The Last Few Bricks” Waters, Gilmour instrumental 3:26
16 “Goodbye Cruel World” Waters 1:42
Total Time: 53:51



Programme 2

# Title Writer(s) Lead vocals Time
1 “Hey You” Gilmour, Waters 4:56
2 “Is There Anybody Out There?” Waters 3:09
3 “Nobody Home” Waters 3:17
4 “Vera” Waters 1:23
5 “Bring the Boys Back Home” Waters 1:25
6 “Comfortably Numb” Gilmour, Waters Waters, Gilmour 7:25
7 “The Show Must Go On” Gilmour 2:45
8 “MC: Atmos” N/A Gary Yudman 0:38
9 “In the Flesh” Waters 4:22
10 “Run Like Hell” Gilmour, Waters Waters 7:04
11 “Waiting for the Worms” Waters, Gilmour 4:14
12 “Stop” Waters 0:30
13 “The Trial” Waters, Ezrin Waters 6:03
14 “Outside the Wall” Waters 4:32
Total Time: 51:33



Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Share this